Argentina Reciprocity Fee Goes Into Effect

Argentina Reciprocity Fee Goes Into Effect

January 14, 2010

After almost a year of delays, Argentina has instituted a reciprocity fee for nationals of  the United States, Australia, and Canada.

Citizens of those 3 countries will need to pay a fee upon entry to Argentina.  The fees are set at the following levels:

US Citizens:  USD$131

Australians:  USD$100

Canadians:  USD$70

Technically speaking, these are not visa fees, as Argentina does not require a visa for tourists entering the country for a stay of 3 months or less.  The fees reflect the amount that each country charges Argentinian citizens for a visa.  Thus the term, reciprocity fee.

The fee can be paid in cash (US dollars or Argentinian pesos), credit card, or traveller’s checks.

{ 1 comment }

AASMA WWEC August 4, 2010 at 1:23 am

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) is a program of the United States Government which allows citizens of specific countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for up to 90 days without having to obtain a visa. The program applies to the 50 U.S. states as well as the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands in the Caribbean, with limited application to other U.S. territories. All countries selected by the U.S. government to be in the program are high-income economies with a high Human Development Index and are regarded as developed countries.

Previous post:

Next post: